The UGR stages new 3 Minute Thesis Competition

Fri, 09/22/2017 - 13:01
premiados en el certamen 3 minute thesis

The 3 Minute Thesis Competition (3MT) challenges doctoral candidates to present their thesis topic and results in just three minutes, using only one PowerPoint slide. The UGR’s three Doctoral Schools have organised the competition for the second year running.

This academic competition was originally developed by the University of Queensland, Australia, and due to its considerable success there, it has since spread to far-flung corners of the globe. The overarching objective is to foster the development of excellent and innovative scientific communication skills among young researchers by challenging them to create dynamic and accessible bite-sized talks on their thesis topics.

Our doctoral candidates can take advantage of this opportunity thanks to the UGR’s close collaboration with its partner universities in the Coimbra Group.

The competition is divided into both local and international levels. At the local level, candidates from the University of Granada compete against one another, and the winners then go on to compete internationally against participants from the other partner universities that make up the Coimbra Group.

The competition will be held in English and will enable candidates to strengthen their research profiles, improve their communication skills, and network with other international researchers. For this purpose, 3MT candidates must present their thesis topic and results in a highly succinct and engaging format in just three minutes, and using just one PowerPoint slide.

The UGR’s Doctoral Schools currently provide their candidates with scientific communication courses in English, enabling them to participate in prestigious international competitions of this kind.

Application deadline: 15 October 2017.

For further information, please visit:

Click on the links below to watch the presentations of the 2016 3 Minute Thesis Competition winners:


Francisco Jesús Martínez Murcia (Winner):

María Jesús Maraver Romero (Runner-up):

Ana Isabel Rodríguez Rejón (People’s Choice Award):



premiados en el certamen 3 minute thesis


The 2016 3 Minute Thesis winners


Contact details:

Francisco Contreras Cortés

Director of the Doctoral School in Humanities, Social Sciences and Law and Coordinator of 3 Minute Thesis Competition

Telephone number: +34958248921

Email: @email